Shri. Pinarayi Vijayan was elected in the 15th Kerala Legislative Assembly elections held on 6 April 2021 from Dharmadam constituency in Kannur district with a margin of 50,123 votes.

His previous term as the Chief Minister of Kerala was widely lauded for his unwavering leadership during the crises faced by the state such as the floods of 2018 and 2019, Nipah outbreak, and Covid pandemic. Amid all this chaos, his government could make significant achievements in the development of Kerala and ensure the welfare of the people. That casts more glow over his Chief Ministership.

He also served in the Left Democratic Front Government under Shri. E.K.Nayanar as the Minister for Electricity and Co-operation from 1996 to 1998. During his stint as the Minister of Electricity, Kerala achieved a huge advancement in the generation and distribution of electricity and took a great leap towards self-sufficiency.

He is a member of the Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). Earlier he served as the secretary of the Kerala State Committee of the CPI(M) from 1998 to 2015.

Vijayan was born on 24th May 1945 in Pinarayi in Kannur district as the 14th son of Mundayil Koran and Kalyani. After school education, he joined for Preuniversity course in the Government Brennen College, Thalassery. Subsequently, he completed his degree course from the same college.

Pinarayi Vijayan entered politics through student union activities at Govt Brennen College, Thalassery and eventually joined the Communist Party in 1964. During the emergency period (1975-77), he was arrested and tortured by the police. He was elected to the Kerala Assembly in 1970, 1977 and 1991 from Koothuparamba constituency, in 1996 from Payyannur constituency, and in 2016 from Dharmadam constituency.

He is married to Kamala and has two children, Veena and Vivek.